Prince’s Trust: Day 47 (Thursday 8th June 2017); Day 48 (Friday 9th June 2017)

Hey everybody,

On the Wednesday evening, I sat down to properly write my speech as we didn’t have long. I’ll be honest I was nervous. My original idea was really bad – I’m not going to lie. With that being said I stuck to what I do best, tell stories. In my neck of the woods, it could mean one of two things: a) I tell fibs (they aren’t lies but near enough, I suppose) or  b) someone who actually tells stories. There are some on this Earth who could argue that I’m guilty of both counts – but let’s not go there. Another story for another time.

Thursday, we started planning our speeches for the Wednesday. I have my plan, but for the purposes of gaining our Prince’s Trust qualification I’ll have to write down the entire thing. In full.

It goes without saying that as well as our ‘Before’, ‘During’ and ‘After’ the course, it would be really good to include humour. In a sense, Team 125 has had a problem with my sense of humour – not many understood sarcasm. Especially dark dry sarcasm. Don’t believe me? There were so many awkward silences. So many misinterpreted bits of body language and mixed signals when I was either trying to be really cheeky or simply kind. At the time that I properly started writing my speech, I thought the humour wouldn’t be an issue but now I’m not so sure. I won’t adjust my sense of humour for anyone, it’s just become clearer than first thought; that not everyone gets it.

My main concern at the time was trying to fit in all I had to say within the time limit I had set myself.

That’s all for now.

Speak soon,

 

LexC

x

Leave a Reply

