Prince’s Trust: Day 40 (Tuesday 30th May 2017)

Hey everybody,

Today was a good day.

This morning we had a professional motivational speaker/ life coach come in to see us at our base. His name is Ralph Watson.

You can find Ralph on Twitter.

You can find Ralph’s company ‘Inspire Impact’ on Twitter.

You can find Ralph’s own website here.

You can find ‘Inspire Impact’ website here.

Check him and his company out, it’ll be well worth your time I promise you.

There was a lot about what Ralph was saying that I understood mainly from personal experience. Whilst I cannot speak for the rest of Team 125, I found it reassuring to know that I was not the only one who thought like this. I’ll be honest, there was also a strong reminder of what my parents have already said to me in the past.

The things I really understood were his five steps and his encouragement and enthusiasm for us to fulfil our own individual ambitions.

  1. Focus (What are your goals?)
  2. Hunger (Do you want to achieve your goals badly enough?)
  3. Effective Action (What pro-active steps can you take to achieve them?)
  4. Choose Your Pack (Who do you have around who can support you in your endeavours?)
  5. Impact (What is the desired outcome from achieving your goals?)

According to Ralph, we all need a pack that resembles a close-knit family. Unfortunately, these days there are fewer a fewer close-knit whole families. My only knowledge of this is because others make me aware of just how lucky I am to have the family I have. Just as Ralph said in his talk with us, in a wolf-pack every wolf knows it’s role which by its very nature, if successful, will ensure the pack’s survival.

For the purposes of this blog, I will answer those five things above.

  1. My goal is to become a best-selling novelist. Everyone has a novel in them or potentially an idea in them, it’s what they do with it that counts. Most do not pay it much attention, but I have always known that this is what I want to do for reasons that I’m not sure I have. You might have noticed my irregular hint-dropping throughout this blog that I am writing something. It’s true, although it’s by no means finished yet.
  2. Do I have the hunger? Yes, I do. Writing stories has been in my blood since I was small (around 7 years old), but it was until a summer holiday between years 8 & 9 (12/13 years old) when I realised that this was something I really wanted to do. The first novel-ish thing I wrote was awful to say the least (I’m so glad I deleted it, saved myself from the cringe-fest). I’ve spent the last decade or so trying to be good at it, and aside from the break I took after uni ended (for which reasons shall remain private), my desire to fulfil this ambition has never wavered.
  3. Writing the manuscript is a good start. I have a general overview of how I want the book to go but it never turns out that way. Sometimes the plot just darts off into the unknown and there’s little old me huffing and puffing after it in a bid to chase the thing down. Who am I kidding? That happens all the time.
    The next step after writing the manuscript is to edit, which judging by my need to constantly edit will probably hurl me onto the nearest therapist’s sofa. Honestly, send help. My mum said she’ll wrestle it off me if needs be (the manuscript, you can keep the sofa!).
    After editing, I’ll ask for help from a literary agent. If I have to, I’ll keep nagging until I find someone (watch out people, I have an inner-Mum and not afraid to use her). What happens after that could possibly end up with me having a publishing deal. I won’t stop until I get there.
  4. There’s an anedote that I presume everyone has heard of: “It’s take a village to raise a child.” Family has always been important to me (again for reasons I don’t have, it just is what it is). Friends are important to me more than ever. Trust me, I have some real corkers in my life (you know who you are). When I achieve something, I will make sure both family and friends are right there with me to celebrate. They are the village and in turn we’ve helped raise each other.
  5. Impact? The most important thing is that people read my work. As it stands, I’ve a list as long as my legs (I’m 1m68 or 5’6, so in the grand scheme of things it’s not that long) of people who want to read it when I’ve finished. Please just be patient. Hopefully, I’ll create enough of an impact to make my writing career last well into old age. Sometime soon, I hope to create an even bigger project than my writing career – that’s for another day.

That’s all for today.

Speak soon,

 

LexC

x

2 Replies to “Prince’s Trust: Day 40 (Tuesday 30th May 2017)”

Leave a Comment

