Prince’s Trust: Day 22 – Day 25 (Thursday 27th April 2017 – Wednesday 3rd May 2017)

Hey everybody!

I’m back – apologies for being away! I was slaving over my artwork and now it’s finally finished (or at least as finished as it can be given the time constraints) I can finally talk to you about it.

First of all, I must say how proud I am of the group for what we have achieved in these past two weeks. None of us are professional artsy-painters although some are better than others, we’ve created artwork we can be proud of. Those who turn up at the door asking for help will be accepted and welcomed here and we helped to provide that. It was a challenge and test of our skills, our patience, and determination but we smashed it (figuratively of course, it’s a common British phrase).

On a personal note, whilst some of you might decry “But Lexi, don’t put yourself down, you’re creative and artsy too!” Honestly, I’m better with the written word than paint. 

This couldn’t have been finished on time without the help of some of team at the last push. I want to take the time to thank them. It was greatly appreciated. You know what they say, ‘Team work makes the dream work!’ Never has it been more true with Team 125.

The last time I made anything remotely artistic on this scale, was in Year Nine (aged 13) when I made a wooden sculpture from lopped off branches off the trees in the garden and other scraps of wood destined to be incinerated. At the time of finishing it, I was accused of cheating but refused to pay the accusations any attention. Luckily, I didn’t have that problem this time around. Just like then as I am now, it made me feel full of pride. Having tried something new, it reinforced the desire in me to create irrespective of what form it came in.

We still have the sculpture ‘Woody’ (I know, genuis name or what – you can thank my Dad for that one). He sits on the balcony and keeps look-out – when his head, arms and legs don’t keep falling off due to the rot!

I’m not a painter and not a good one at that either, but I’m up for the challenge and I’ll always try my best to do a good job. It’s pretty much how the rest of the group have approached the project too. This has made the process personally, both exciting and infuriating in equal measure. It’s been a work in progress because most of the time I had no idea what I was doing – I guess you could say it was well worth the jubilation and torment. This is why I have waited until it was finished to show you what I’ve done. It’s not my best and it’s not my worst, but nor was I expecting to produce something so abstract looking. It’s not how I pictured it in my head, I’m not sure I have the talent to have pulled what I had in my head off. It’s rather quirky. It works. Sort of.


As you can see I’m not a half-arsed woman and when it comes to being on a level playing field, I have to work twice as hard as everybody else. I’ve been so dedicated to the task I spent the entire day today (Wednesday 3rd May 2017) working and not stopping for a break nor lunch. Not only did I lose energy but almost forgot my marbles when I lost track of what day it was (I thought it was Thursday – trust me, don’t ask).

In terms of the picture, it is what it says it is. A snapshot. A recreated photo using paints and personal artistic interpretation.

Why did I choose the place? Well, it fits in nicely with trying new things and visiting new places. On the other side of the abstract wall, is a phenomenal restaurant (predominantly fish restaurant) serving fresh fish from the sea which is a stones throw away from where the original photo was shot. I tried octopus carpaccio here, and half expected it to be rubbery but it was de-lish and I’m glad it was my first experience of it. I’d go again just to relive it. I went to Dubrovnik Old Town on holiday with Mum and Dad, the last family holiday I took with them. It’s a place and a holiday that will remind me of ice creams, exploring as the three little ducks (inside joke), amazing food, great company and a lobster tan that made me itch and could only be soothed with coconut oil. 

As for the quote? 

Over the years, Mum has always been in our corner motivating and encouraging us (Dad too, but Mum in a more emotionally vocal capacity) so asking for help from her with the quote made sense to me. Sorry it took me so long to ask for your help, Mum. She is fiercely protective of both of her kids and we’re fiercely protective of her (don’t say a bad word about any of us – trust me, don’t even go there). I’m sharing this with you but nothing more. There’s so much admire about her, for one thing she doesn’t mince her words when it comes to telling others what she thinks. Great mums need to be appreciated and not just on their birthday or on Mother’s Day but every day. It’s highly likely Mum will be eye-rolling at this right now thinking “why are you telling people this?”. Well who better to encourage others, than someone as wise, resilient, and incredible as your good self Mum? (Am I right Dad?) 

Yeah… eye-roll and tut at me all you like, Mum, I’m sorry not sorry. 

This artwork has knackered me out. I’m off to make tomorrow’s packed lunch and then to bed to read for a bit. We have our handover tomorrow at 2pm BST. I’ll take some photos of the rest of the team’s work and post them here tomorrow. Who knows who will be there? General public? Press? Police? I’m hoping all of the above. Keep an eye out on for ITV News Central Six O’Clock news bulletin, you might see a few familiar faces. 

This world needs more goodness right now.

Speak soon,

 

LexC

x

Published by

Lexc

Hi there! I'm Lex and I love to read and write. I spent three years at uni studying creative writing and english literature. However, just like other forms of art, writing is subjective and so many hold different opinions on different books but that's the joy of a good natter over literature. There's also much pleasure to be had over a good book, a constant stream of cups of tea and biscuits. For all of the American counterparts, biscuits are biscuits not cookies. I'm also a keen follower in egalitarianism and destigmatising mental health. I will be writing a few blog posts here and there on these topics but it won't be on a daily basis. Be sure to leave a comment, like, subscribe and share - and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

