Prince’s Trust: Day 4 (Thursday 30th March 2017)

Hey everybody,

Just a short blog post from me today.

Blighty is famous for its torrential rain; this morning was no exception. Even though the weatherwoman on the telly said it would be ‘very warm’, I predicted it would rain. By heck, did it rain!? I was soaked by the time I arrived at our team base. On days like this, I really wish someone had invented mini-windscreen wipers for people who wear glasses.

We arrived at the care home which I had missed out on yesterday when the rest of the group were briefed on what we had to do. We had to remove all of the weeds from the plant beds. We got stuck into the task despite the rain. Although an hour before the lunch break was called I was told off for working too hard and many didn’t hold back in telling me how knackered I looked. I appreciated their honesty but ploughed on regardless. I like to work hard for my lunch, it makes me appreciate it more. I took my break – a coffee and homemade energy bar (again another of my mum’s recipes – if anyone is interested in making them then comment below, and I’ll post them here on my blog) and was mercilessly ribbed for trying to hide from my duties. There’s so much sarcasm in our group that it just makes me laugh, and if it could fill a swimming pool we’d all be swimming in it. In jest, they even started calling me ‘Mum’. What can I say? Being one of the eldest, most mature individuals I feel large responsibility for everyone.

As a ‘thank you’ from the care home for what we did, we were given doughnuts. I can’t even remember the last time I had a doughnut.

Kelly told us that prior to this one-day project, they would be looking at who would be good at leading which activities throughout the course. I was told I’d make a great leader if only I was more vocal.  Well to that I say, let’s just wait for ressy!

A funny thought to end today’s blog post: as I was walking home I recieved a lot of weird looks from passers-by. It wasn’t until I got home and washed my hands that I realised why. I had inadvertently painted half a beard of mud on one side of my face!

Speak soon,

 

LexC

x

Leave a Reply

