Prince’s Trust: Day 2 (Tuesday 28th March 2017)

Hey everybody,

Here is my summary/ review of yesterday’s events.

First off, there were some questions to get our brains going. My brain didn’t compute and I got all the answers wrong. Whoops. And we had two newbies join us. Wahey!

I’m not sure about the rest of the group, but I struggled with writing or even listing my personal strengths. Those in my family and my mates are often more accurate about the whole thing than I am. We managed to get it finished.

Then we were split into two groups to do ‘Town Planning’. Create a town with a maximum of three roads and stick to a budget of £300,000 – £500,000. We could pick and choose which town landmarks we could put on our map. Neither group named said town. Then we had to stand up and present our ideas.

After lunch, we talked about presentations. The presentation we’ll have to give at the end of these twelve weeks which I am dreading.

We discussed

  1. When might you have to give a presentation?
  • School
  • University
  • College
  • Business Meeting
  • Pitch ideas
  • On TV (tv presenters)
  • End of a course (Hint-hint, wink-wink)
  • Health and Safety
  • Job Interviews
  • To give an explanation of something

2. What do you use in a presentation?

  • Powerpoint
  • Speech
  • Handouts/ Leaflets
  • Laserpen
  • Model
  • Chart/ Graphs
  • Microphone
  • Pictures/Flipchart

3. What are the best elements of a presentation?

  • good level of eye-contact
  • Clear and confident
  • effective execution
  • Learning styles
  • Bullet points
  • Planning
  • Jokes/ appropriate humour
  • Easy to follow

4.  What are the worst elements of a presentation?

  • Too much information
  • Being rude
  • Swearing
  • Mumbling
  • Having to go to the toilet
  • Bad language
  • Inappropriate clothing
  • Being drunk/ high
  • Phone going off midway
  • No interrupting

Then we got onto the meal planning, the part I’m really looking forward to. Well, it didn’t go as well as I thought it would do. We had trouble staying on track and I tried to keep them focused. I’ve had to change what it is that we’ll be making. It’s bound to be a winner though because it’s one of my mum’s homemade recipes. She’s the one who taught me how to cook and she’s the reason why I love to cook. I’m lucky to have her.

Speak soon,

 

LexC

x

 

Leave a Reply

