Mid-week Madness

Hey everybody, I’m back again!

Wednesday was a day unlike no other not just for me, but for the whole of Blighty and indeed the rest of the world.

Worryingly, I heard a bang before bed but never questionned the seriousness of it. Less than 24 hours later, the temporary closure of my street that night was trending all over Twitter with news of arrests and the background on the person responsible. The whole world and his wife descended here before I had switched on the news with a mug of coffee in hand  (I may be British but I don’t drink tea all of the time).

Obviously I could go on about how weird the whole situation about the presence of the press was, how shocked I was that not only someone had done something so horrific to my nation. The worst thing of all was that they lived on the opposite side of the street from me; a fact which I did not know until I turned on the news. It’s taken me a while to get my head around it hence why I didn’t blog on Wednesday.

The last time I felt like this was in 2011, when a lone gunman went on the rampage and started a killing spree in and around the city I lived in. Put it this way, had he not been dealt with by counter-terrorism officers, our school would have been next on his list the very morning that it happened. Police had informed the school staff that they knew he had passed by our school to size us up. Our school, much like the rest of the country, was put on lockdown. At the time, I was 16 years old. This is the first time I’ve spoken about it in a public way.

Although I was never approached by the press for comment as I carried on with my life in the most stoic British manner possible on Thursday, there was still that British-level awkwardness on my part about the whole thing. But we are the ‘United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland’, clues are in the name of our amazing country; despite our current in-limbo situation we are united and great in equal measure. Even though our security level remains at ‘severe’ we will not allow such attacks on our freedoms to break us. Remember the quote from Rocky: “It’s not about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you get hit and keep moving forward.” Everybody responds differently, as the UK, we have chosen to simply carry on, as suggested by this sentiment. Yes it may be a fake but it encapsulates the British spirit, and at the end of the day that’s all that matters. Take it from me, stoicism always wins out in the end against the terrorists who are simply a pile of turds.

Not to point out the obvious, but these ‘things’ (they are not deserving of the title ‘human being’) who commit these crimes against humanity are not real Muslims. The people I know who are real Muslims abhor this type of behaviour just like the rest of us. It’s a fact that the world must not lose sight of. Please do not tar Muslims with the same brush.

To all the victims, families & friends of the victims, and the heroes who tried to save the four victims and those now recovering from the atrocious event – I send you my sincerest heartfelt condolences, best wishes and gratitude. A special shout-out to national hero PC Keith Palmer, who risked his life to protect the people of London: thank you sir. To his family, you are in my thoughts, always.

To help make a donation and support PC Keith Palmer’s family, here is his JustGiving page.

To help make a donation to support Aysha Frade’s family, here is her JustGiving page.

To help make a donation to support Kurt Cochran’s family, here is his GoFundMe page.

To help make a donation in support of other related crowdfunding campaigns for the victims of the Westminster attack and those  who worked hard to help the injured, go here.

Speak soon,

 

LexC

x

 

Leave a Comment

