Book Review: Bossypants – By Tina Fey

Bossypants_Tina Fey.jpg

The blurb:

“Once in a generation a woman comes along who changes everything. 

TINA FEY is not that woman, but she met that woman once and acted weird around her.” 

Why did I choose to listen to this book?

Firstly, I have no idea.

Secondly, I found it on YouTube (of all places) when I was listening to Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming. As soon as I saw it I didn’t feel like I had a choice. It was too tempting not to listen to it.

Thirdly, my dog smacked me so hard in the nose with her head that it made me cry sad tears like a baby, and so I knew Tina Fey would cheer me up. At the very least she’d probably make me laugh so hard I’d forget crying about my throbbing nose and cry laughing tears.

What do I think about this book?

Firstly, I still have no idea.

Secondly, the imagery that Fey uses is quirky and unique. This is an attractive quality in a book, so I love it. It also reminds me that I’m not alone in how I think. Although since Fey surrounds herself with comedians, it begs the question of the sorts I happen to surround myself with. The answer to that, is that they are usually the odd ones out. And weird. Very weird. But it has been scientifically proven that weird is good and that when we find weird people we should latch onto them and never let go. Tina Fey and the people she meets are weird.

Thirdly, there’s this thing I’d like to clear up. Critics seem to think that the British and the American sense of humour are two very different things. Having listened and read along to the audiobook and the pdf, I’ve come to the conclusion that it very rarely is. We have a lot of american tv shows on telly these days and believe it or not they are quite popular because they are quite funny. There are even repeats of ‘Fraiser’, ‘Everybody Loves Raymond’, ‘Scrubs’ and even ‘Friends’ for goodness sake. The only difference is that our American counterparts like to point out is that we just sound sexier because of our accent (of which there are many). There are even points in ‘Bossypants’ that Tina Fey exploits using the british accent which she masters with great success. I didn’t realise she could make us sound so funny.

Perhaps we can be as funny as Tina Fey, possibly as sexy depend on where you go and who you meet in the UK. But at the end of the day we can only be British in the same way that Tina Fey is Tina Fey.

To conclude, why is it that every time I want to Google ‘Tina Fey’, I accidentally type ‘Tiny Feye’? What even is a ‘Tiny Feye’ anyway?

Buy the book here

Follow me on Goodreads here

Follow me on Twitter here

 

Leave a Comment

